Australian Tapestry Workshop
Architect: TJ Crouch, 1885. Peter Carmichael, 1976. Peter Williams, 1999.
Port Phillip | PP01
The Australian Tapestry Workshop is the only studio of its kind in the country. It is also one of only a few worldwide that produces hand-woven, contemporary tapestries.
Ranging from miniature to monumental, the tapestries are woven using the finest Australian wool, which is specially dyed onsite from a unique palette of 370 colours. Most of the workshop’s tapestries have been specially commissioned and hang in significant public buildings and collections.
The Australian Tapestry Workshop occupies a National Trust and heritage listed building. Erected in 1885 as a drapery establishment, Harcourt and Parry Emporium, the building was later adapted for use as Patross Knitting Mills. In 1976, a renovation by Peter Carmichael transformed what had become a derelict, dingy factory space into an expansive, light-filled studio and a perfect home for the workshop.
Need to Know
Open: Saturday 10am-4pm, Sunday 10am-4pm
What's Open: Visitors will experience a vibrant setting with multi-coloured yarns lining the walls and weavers seated at looms creating new artworks. Explore the workshop, including the galleries, studio floor and viewing balcony with a view to the colour laboratory. Hourly guided tours focus on the architecture, history and modern use of the building.
Frequency Of Tours: Tours will run four times a day. Queue at main entry point.
Building Type: Studio
Tram Stops: Stop 129: Park St/Clarendon St on route 12
262–266 Park St , South Melbourne VIC 3205