46Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
Address: 250 - 290 Spring Street, East Melbourne
Opening Hours: 10am to 4pm - Saturday and Sunday
What's Open: The tour takes in the grand main foyer, the library, the fascinating surgical museum, the beautiful Hailes room and the large council room. Each 30 minute tour includes impressive collection of portraits, significant pieces of furniture, ceramics and the beautiful college mace. Tour guides will also provide commentary on the history of the college’s surgical instruments, sharing their knowledge on early medical techniques and explaining (in fascinating and possibly confronting detail) how some of the surgical instruments on display were used.
Frequency Of Tours: Every 30 minutes (last tour of the day commences at 3.30pm)
Building Type: Educational Buildings College
Year Built: 1934, 1965, 2003
Architect: Leighton Irwin, Irwin & Stevenson (original building) Jackson Architecture (2004 East wing)
Tram Stops: Stop 10: Albert Street and Nicholson Street on routes 86, 95 and 96
See early surgical instruments and hear how they were used.
Architectural Award Winner
Included on either the Victorian Heritage Register, Heritage Council. Classified by the National Trust, Australia (Victoria) or included on the CIty of Melbourne Heritage Overlay
Lines Expected, Arrive Early
Rooftop or Significant City Views
Good for Kids