Melbourne Town Hall and Offices
Architect: Reed and Barnes 1870, 1887,1925
City of Melbourne | C36
Architects Reed and Barnes won a competition for its design, and the firm was also responsible for later additions in 1887. These additions included Prince Alfred Tower (1869), the temple-like portico (1887), and the extension along Collins Street (1925). The exterior façade is made from Tasmanian freestone and sits above a rusticated bluestone plinth. The clock tower houses clocks donated by the son of Melbourne's first Mayor, Henry Condell. Brass statues of a sheep (wool), a bull (boiled down from fat for candles and soap), a whale (oil and bone), and a ship (transportation of exports) represent the strengths and wealth creators of Melbourne in the early 1840s.
Experience the grandeur of the wood-panelled Council Chamber, stand on the portico where the Beatles waved, sit in the Lord Mayor’s chair and absorb it all in. Rooms included in the tour are subject to availability.
Need to Know
Open: Saturday 27 & Sunday 28 July 10am–4pm
Tour Type: Bookings required, FREE
Tour Details: Tours at 10am, 10.30am, 11am, 11.30am, 12pm, 12.30pm, 1pm, 1.30pm, 2pm, 2.30pm, 3pm, 3.30pm, running 60 minutes in groups of 20
Access: Fully accessible, all ages
Notes: ID required for entry photography restrictions
Building Type: Government
Architecture Era: Victorian (1851-1901)
Transport: Tram stop: Collins St/Melbourne Town Hall on routes 1, 3/3a, 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, 16, 67, 72, 109
Photo Credit: Courtesy of City of Melbourne
90 - 130 Swanston Street, Melbourne 3000, Melbourne VIC