Xavier College Memorial Chapel
Architect: Schreiber & Jorgensen
East | E04
The Xavier College Memorial Chapel was built between 1927 and 1934 as a memorial to former students of Xavier College who died on active service. The Chapel’s beauty and geographical dominance stands as a profound symbol for both the College and Melbourne. In March 1987, the Chapel was listed by the National Trust. It is described as one of the most formal classicising Baroque church designs in Victoria, with a giant-order Roman Ionic portico at the main entrance, vestigial west towers and a dominant dome and drum over the crossing. In October 1991, the Chapel was placed on the Victorian Heritage Register, as being of architectural importance in exhibiting good design. The interior features items carved by Robert Prenzel and Leopoldine Mimovich, and stained-glass windows by Brooks Robinson and Co., while the exterior is constructed from Hawkesbury sandstone. Views of the city from the Chapel forecourt and surrounds are extensive. “From the centre of the city and from the surrounding suburbs, the distant view of the noble dome would catch the attention of many a Catholic as he returned home from a day of weary toil,” Fr Edmund Frost SJ in 1926, Xavier College Rector 1923–1931.
Need to Know
Open: Thursday 1 January 10am-4pm
What's Open: All parts of the Chapel
Special Note: Parental supervision of children required. Only the Memorial Chapel will be open, no other buildings will be open.
Tour Type: E04
Access: Pram accessible, Fully accessible
Building Type: Place of Worship
Special Programming: Xavier College music students will be performing throughout the day.
Year Built: 1929-1934
Transport: Stop 77: Barkers Rd/Glenferrie Rd on route 16.
Photo Credit: Xavier College
135 Barkers Road, Kew 3101, VIC